First Anvil Advice

Cr23484

Registered
Registered
Hi Everyone,
I am looking into buying a new Peddinghaus anvil
#5 at about 70lbs.
I want an upgrade to my various post anvils, which are chunks of h13 and a few Rail tracks at 136 lbs per 3 foot.
I am a beginner at forging , and have used my post leg vice anvil jaw to do light 1/4” forging.
I also use the rail in both the horizontal and vertical positions.
a 1” steel ball does not rebound very much on any of the surfaces I have tried.
Is this anvil a good choice ir is there a better choice out there?
Thanks
J

Peddinghaus has a good name although I haven’t personally used one. Seventy pounds isn’t terribly big though — I think you’ll still be limited to fairly light work but depending on what you have in mind that could be just fine. I have an old 1-0-5 Peter Wright at 117 pounds and it can still bounce around some. You have to start someplace though and the bigger ones go for serious money, at least around here anyways. I always liked the looks of Nimba anvils out of Port Townsend but don’t do enough to justify having one.

-frank

Rebound is somewhat overrated. Light bounces of the hammer are less stressful than bouncing a ball bearing. The tools you have are pretty good except for heavy drawing. Radius the vertically placed rail web for that. How much and what kind of stuff have you made?

Peddinghaus has a good name although I haven’t personally used one. Seventy pounds isn’t terribly big though — I think you’ll still be limited to fairly light work but depending on what you have in mind that could be just fine. I have an old 1-0-5 Peter Wright at 117 pounds and it can still bounce around some. You have to start someplace though and the bigger ones go for serious money, at least around here anyways. I always liked the looks of Nimba anvils out of Port Townsend but don’t do enough to justify having one.

-frank
Thank you Frank,
Jon