First post - Just purchased an Atlas 10" TH48 and have a couple questions

evilruss

Registered
Registered
Hi,
this is my first post. Having never used a lathe prior to yesterday, definite beginner here. I bought this lathe with the first project of making some components to build a shifter from scratch for a car with a manual transmission. I believe the lathe appears to be in fairly good shape. I couldn't measure any noticeable wear on the ways, and didn't find any rust or grime anywhere. Include both a 3 jaw and 4 jaw 6 inch chucks, and a quick change setup with a few tool holders, couple dead centers, and an MT2 drill chuck.

So far I've pulled the intermediate shaft apart in order to clear the clogged grease holes that were keeping the grease caps from being able to push fresh grease into the bearings. I had found a few forums mentioning the use of ISO 68 and ISO 32 for lubrication. I had some ISO 32 on the shelf and it's somewhat cold in the garage, around 40 degrees currently, so I have run the machine for a short time with ISO 32 for everything including the head, and also lightly lubricating the change gears. Was mainly playing around making my first chips, and trying some different speeds out. After some use though I was seeing what looked like gummed up balls of metal stuck together laying below the change gears. I'm a little worried it was the change gears wearing down possibly. So my main question is it likely I did any major damage already to the change gears using ISO 32 on them? Since I wasn't using the lead screw to power anything, I went ahead and removed the 3 sets of change gears for the moment to avoid any possible further damage. Only planning to use them for some threading.

I'll get some decent pictures this evening of the lathe.

-Russ

Quick photo I took after sitting the lathe in it's new home.

Attachments

• received_869630913485328.jpeg
    received_869630913485328.jpeg
    239.1 KB · Views: 39