First post. New Member

Mike6158

Random Pixel Generator
H-M Platinum Supporter
Man... I've been thumbing through this forum and the posts in the Beginners Forum don't sound very beginner- ee... :) I'll do my best to dumb things down a little for the future members that are really beginners like me...

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas and 2018 is outstanding.

I'm very new to this but I am a certified Machinist YouTube Channel Watcher. Joe Pieczynski, Abom79, OxTool, Keith Rucker, Keith Fenner, and my favorite - Dave Richards Old Steam Powered Machine Shop. There are others but I only have an 8 bit memory and the overflow flag is true... So, with that said, I have a very large virtual experience base :grin big: and no practical experience base. (there's a politician joke in there somewhere but I'll leave well enough alone)

I have always liked metrology (Starrett boxes are pretty) so I have had mic's, calipers (dial and digital), etc for a while. Back in the 70's I mic'd crankshafts in engines that I overhauled... actually I mic'd plasti-gauge. My friends held it up to the little card and eyeballed it and I used a Starrett mic.

Earlier in 2017 I finally bought a LMC Model 5200 mini-lathe. Right off the bat I figured out it was too small to do the things I want to do but I'm having fun with it and the scale of my screw ups is smaller than it would be if I had a larger lathe. I do very simple things with it. I think it needs to be set up better. There is a lot of backlash in the cross slide. Baby steps.

Examples of simple things- I've made some thick brass washers that need to be a specific thickness. That wasn't exactly complex machine work and it went ok. Not great but ok. Today I drilled the primer flash hole out to 9/64" on 50 rounds of .308 brass. Again, not exactly tough machine work.