Fitting new D1-5 chuck adapter correctly

mcdanlj

Registered
Registered
I just bought my first new chuck (an ER40 collet chuck) for my lathe; all my previous chucks came with the lathe when I purchased it. This was a set of an ER40 chuck and a D1-5 back plate. I have no experience to know what to expect and would appreciate help.

I understand and expect that the registration face and boss on the adapter need to be finished on my lathe, and I'll get there.

However, the D1-5 taper on the back of the chuck adapter doesn't appear to be a tight fit. When I put the chuck adapter onto the nose, the back of the chuck plate registers against the end of the spindle, but that tiny little nose taper doesn't seem to touch, and I can wiggle the adapter slightly. I realized that I don't even know whether it is supposed to be able to move, but I don't understand how registration would be consistent without the nose taper fitting snug.

Should I expect to have to mount the adapter backwards in another chuck and skim cut the back face until the nose taper registers firmly, or is it OK for it to feel slightly loose until I tighten? I am not going to start cutting anything until I know that I'm supposed to, since un-cutting is famously difficult. :D

I would not be at all surprised if there is an existing thread covering this that I just didn't know how to search for, so a pointer to an existing thread, and possibly instruction in what search terms would helped me help myself, would be a great help. I'm just trying to bootstrap my knowledge here.

Thanks!

My lathe is also D1-5 so I'm interested in this thread but unfortunately I haven't yet done what you're doing. I would suggest that you put a sharpie mark on the adaptor and lock it to the spindle while putting pressure on it in various directions checking for runout between each direction change. Maybe the taper doesn't get tight until you cinch the cams down. Bear in mind I'm just guessing here.