Fix AcuRiteDRO or get new Chinese 3 axis?

dado5

Registered
Registered
I recently acquired an excello mill which came with an old AcuRite 2 axis dro. It works mostly,, but the x axis will randomly cut out and reset back to the "power loss" screen. This only happens while the machine is running, I am asssuming from vibration and so something is shorting out. I took off the scale and looked at the electronics, nothing obvious. I can replace the x axis scale with a new one and a new cable which apparently will connect to my current control box. Will cost about $600. Or I can get a 3 axis Chinese (from various vendors) for not much more. The new one I imagine would be able to do bolt centers, etc.. which my current one does not. I am a new hobby machinist and don't yet know if I need 3 axis or a better computer/box. Any thoughts? Will the new ones be as accurate?

i have not gone to the 3 axis chinese DRO's yet,
but a couple members have swapped over to the new ones and they seem to be very happy so far.
they are all hobbyists, btw

Another troubleshoot tool or tip.

Get one of the vibrating tool engravers and also get a chunk of wood dowel.

Sharpen one end with pencil sharpener and drill a hole in the other just smaller than the engraver stylus.

Adjust the intensity to small then with the DRO in a working state turn on the engraver and touch things like connectors and wires.

Open the unit and do same for components.

Just touch things with unit barely humming and it works wonders for finding intermittent things.

Try to fix it. Your out some time if it doesn't work, no money. If you do find the issue and fix it, you just saved several hundred dollars!!! If it doesn't work, look into a new setup. Just my thoughts.

Another troubleshoot tool or tip.
Get one of the vibrating tool engravers and also get a chunk of wood dowel.
Sharpen one end with pencil sharpener and drill a hole in the other just smaller than the engraver stylus.