Fixed my Chinese Vice

Mr. Kelly

Registered
Registered
I'm just starting out with machining, and I bought myself a cheap Chinese vice. Yes, I know, I know. Shoulda bought a Kurt. I didn't think the Chinese one would be that bad, and hey, it looked good in the catalog! I actually ended up with two, as one supplier forgot to cancel my order after I called, so he gave it to me at cost.

So I've got two Chinese vices. One looks better than the other. The second is an even worse casting than the first, the grinding is pathetic, and the fit and finish is sloppy.
After having a little trouble squaring up some material in it, I took a few minutes to run an indicator over the nice looking one and found something like 0.005" side to side across the bed and 0.014" variation overall. The ugly one is only out a few thou.

I did a little looking around for information on what sort of luck people have had with fixing up their junk vices. I found very little, but I did find this which was very helpful.
http://www.docsmachine.com/projects/4vise/4vise-01.html
My vice was a bit better built than this guy's, but was out much more in tolerances. I figured this would be good opportunity to learn and practice a little. I made a plan to disassemble the components and cut them down to flat and parallel with a 2" face mill (don't have a fly cutter yet). I don't have a surface grinder so I tried looking into options to make do with what I have to clean things up. After reading a bunch about how everyone says not to grind on a milling machine, I decided I'd try it anyway and mitigate as much as I could by taking it easy, covering up the ways really well, and vacuuming lots.

I used a 4" cup to grind. I cut the head off a 5/8" grade 8 bolt, threaded it onto the cup with a lock nut, and chucked it in the spindle with a collet. I was surprised at how true it actually ran.