found this on craigslist

rambin

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
234

MikeInOr

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jan 1, 2018
Messages
353
Very cool find, I would have never guessed that someone made after market quick change gear boxes.

$75 seems like an incredibly reasonable price!... until I read 1947, LOL. That is probably half what the lathe cost.

I spent 20 years wishing for a quick change gear box for my 12" Atlas lathe... For little more than the quick change boxes were going for on ebay I ended up finding a somewhat local 13" South bend lathe... with a quick change box, of course.
 

Chuck K

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2013
Messages
1,105
I saw that listing a while back and didn't notice the aftermarket qc box. I thought he just added one from another logan. Good eye. Do you think he has enough motor?
 

wa5cab

Downloads Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
7,791
There were I think two after-market QCGB's made for the Atlas 10" and maybe the early Craftsman 12". But they didn't last very long after the factory boxes came out. That may be what happened to the one for the Logan.
 

Nogoingback

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
1,539
Countershaft has only one pulley instead of 3: looks like it's been put together from bits.
 

rambin

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
234
I saw that listing a while back and didn't notice the aftermarket qc box. I thought he just added one from another logan. Good eye. Do you think he has enough motor?
I saw that listing a while back and didn't notice the aftermarket qc box. I thought he just added one from another logan. Good eye. Do you think he has enough motor?

hahah I didn't notice that....better to have extra then not enough I guess... its got a clutch anyway so I don't see a big issue.. use what u can find. I have 3/4 on mine since the 1/2 **** the bed!
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock