[Antique] G.a. Planer-seeking Advice.

bfxdw16

Registered
Registered
Hello,

I have also posted this request on other sites for assistance. I apologize for the redundancy. I am an advance newbie to machining, if there is such a thing. I have been hobby welding for years. I am a die-hard history buff especially when it comes to tools and construction methods. I am assisting a friend who runs a machining business with the sale of some of his older machines. His oldest unit is a 72 inch G.A. Planer. It is in immaculate condition and still runs although it hasn’t been used in years. I do not know if there is any market for the planer. We have had several people that offered to haul it away for scrap prices. I would prefer not to send it to the scrap yard. This unit has a single phase motor that doesn't require any special wiring to be installed. Others equipment we are surplusing has 3 phase motors that most hobby machinist would not want to deal with. I have found several post of similar models but they w are in rough condition. It is presently listed on eBay and Craigslist just to see if there is any interest. I figured I would post in this forum because many of you appear to have the same interest in quality seasoned tools as I do. Any advice would be helpful.

IMG_1290.JPG IMG_1291.JPG IMG_1296.JPG IMG_1297 (1).JPG IMG_1298.JPG

My lord that's pretty. I would certainly be interested in it if you are not planning on keeping it. ill send my info after the kids are asleep

Update: I misspoke and have been corrected by a forum member. The motor is actually 3 phase. I apologize for the error.

Please don't assume that 3 phase machinery doesn't interest us hobbyists. Just in the short time I've been a member I have been very impressed by how readily the others on this site adapt their shops in order to enjoy older vintage machines.