G0602 Vs. G0752 Variable Speed worth it?

BroncoSquid

Registered
Registered
I have been looking for a small Lathe to go with my small Mill (Rockwell 21-100) for about a year now. I have sort of settled on the Grizzly 10X22. I am a complete novice other than reading books and playing with the mill.
My question is, is the variable speed option worth the $350? Or am I better off with the G0602 and a quick change tool post?
:nervous:

I went with the g0602

I do want variable speed one day but i did the math and i can buy a good frequency drive and convert it cheaper my self and have a much higher quality motor to boot .

But then i also live in the rust belt and second hand three phase motors are dirt cheap in my part of the world

I also considered the speed range of the lathe how grizzly has it set up and when i do mine id like to get the low end a good bit slower then the variable speed version is capeable of going

I worry about Chinese electronics. I'd get the separate VFD because if anything goes wrong,I'll bet you won't be able to get a spare part in a few years from Grizzly. That's the way it is these days. Even Sears used to guarantee spare parts for 10 years. No more. With a separate VFD you can easily replace the box without defacing the lathe.

I bought a Jet variable speed wet grinder with built in variable speed. It worked a few hours and went dead. A few DEALERS told me those often are dead out of the box new!! After a major hassle with Jet,they sent me a new printed circuit board. When I went to install it,I found out the push on connecters were literally as thin as aluminum beer cans. Maybe thinner. When the assembly person pushed them on,they'd crack,soon losing contact. I soldered the cracked connector and the grinder worked again,till it went dead again. A friend GAVE me a Tormek wet wheel grinder,which is a much more expensive machine,so I haven't bothered to get into the Jet again. I should have soldered ALL the connecters.