G0768 3 Jaw issue

TDuff

Registered
Registered
Hello everyone:

I'm a noob here and need to get some advice on an interesting issue with my 3 jaw chuck. Bought a used (2 - 3 yr old ) G0768 lathe in what looks to be pretty good condition, with all the original accessories. Started working on some 2 1/8 inch diameter aluminum bar stock - no issues. Especially after going through the usual cleaning, oiling, and adjustments.
it runs smooth! Next I put a pc. of 1 inch diameter aluminum bar stock in and it was spinning with a major amount of run out right at the jaws. Put the 2 1/8 inch pc. back in, which uses the next larger set of clamping faces on the jaws and no noticeable run out. So apparently the inner-most clamp points of the jaws were not machined accurately from the factory. Fortunately the alternate jaws - the inside diameter jaws - look/work great on the 1 inch diameter stock, so I'm back in business but, my question is - can the O.D. jaws be corrected somehow or do I need to buy new jaws if I want then to be "correct".

Hope this gibberish makes some sense, and thanks for any suggestions you might have.

Terry

The scroll could be bent due to the former owner having a wreck, if this is so you will have a tight spot and it will throw off one of the jaws.

Take the chuck apart and give it a good look over, clean it up well. For a small lathe/chuck, a run out of 0.015" would be a huge amount. Sounds like there is something not set up correctly. Let us know what you find.

I would suspect the scroll has chips in it creating the runout on the jaws.

loosen the jaws just enough to turn the 1" stock several different locations ----does the runout improve--maybe the 1" stock isn't totally straight or round.