G0782 Lathe Review

xaidin

Registered
Registered
G0782 Lathe Review

Howdy Folks.
After saving my pennies for a long time I finally had the means to upgrade my 10+ year old G0602 little 9x22 with a new G0782 13x40 lathe.

I looked all over online and didn’t find a review so planned to write something for the community once I got it up and running.

FYI: I do not make my living as a machinist. I’m a hobby machinist at best and so take my thoughts with a grain ‘o salt. This is my first time using a "big" lathe and it's great.

Below are some pictures, but here’s my thoughts on my new prized machine.

Oil requirements, both in the manual and noted on back of machine are terribly wrong. I don’t know exactly what went in but as per the sight glasses oil requirements are about a quart off for headstock and gear box.

This lathe uses change gears to do threading. I suffered some buyer’s remorse before the machine even arrived as I’d be hoping to get away from all those &$*#@ing gears. This was spelled out in the manual but not obvious on Grizzly’s website. I don’t thread all that much anyway so I can deal with it.

This sucker was LOUD before/during/after the break in. However, after a few extra hours of break in before I changed all the oils it quieted down a lot. I understand this is common with new Chinese gears.

Overall fit and finish is awesome compared to my old Grizzly lathe, but still some shortcuts were taken. Minor stuff though, like with paint, and some headstock set screws go all the way through, and leak (I sealed them up).

The stand has more metal than I expected. Overall it’s quite ridged.

There’s a post here about hockey pucks under the machine to cut down on vibrations, this idea is awesome. Thank you whoever posted that! Before I got the feet sorted, and the machine leveled the floor for the whole building vibrated.

The included light sucks. It just had 3 sad little LEDs. It’s stand it pretty good, so I’ll just rig up a more proper light on top.