G1007

jlesser27

Registered
Registered
Help? I have been looking for a mill for the house. I would love a Bridgeport but space is limited. A friend acquired a Grizzly G1007 with what looks like quite a few upgrades, DRO, VFD. Pictures attached. I have been thinking about getting a PM30-MV but I can pick up the Grizzly with some vices and the stand for $1k. Anyone have experience with this machine your feedback would be great appreciated.
cd1625e0ff7762da40e09731f12c0cdf.jpg

20200731_102549.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Looks like a modded RF-30 to me. A ubiquitous model with a large following, it is a beast of a bench top mill. Good price and I would jump on it provided you are aware of the limitations of a round column mill.

Mikey, thanks for the response. I’m new to machining and have taken it up as a hobby. Can you fill me in on the disadvantages of a round column?

Last edited:
It mostly has to do with the fact that the head can move radially when you raise or lower the head. Say you had a work piece in the vise and drilled a hole but discovered that you needed a longer drill. Naturally, you would raise the head so the longer drill will fit, right? But on a round column mill, just like a drill press, the head can move off center of that previously drilled hole and the longer drill may not drill dead on center. THAT is the disadvantage.

Now, here is the reality. These mills have a 5" long quill travel and that quill is a full 3" diameter steel column, meaning it is damned stout. It is meant to be able to mill and drill at full extension. Most of us simply locate the head with the longest tool we need to use in mind before we start to work. Then we use the quill travel to get everything done without having to move the head so most round column owners do not feel that the loss of centering is a big deal. Over the last 5 years I have not had a single time when this was a problem.