Getting started, need a mill and a lathe.

Maverick44

Registered
Registered
Howdy,

I'm wanting to get set up with some decent tools so that I can get started machining. I'm wanting a mill and a small lathe. I've been a woodworker for years, but this is something completely new to me. I'm not sure what all I actually need. or what features I need. Most of the stuff I want to do is kind of small. I'm an avid reloader and bullet caster, so having the ability to make my own custom molds (and the cutter to make them), along with bullet sizing dies would be great. I'd like a mill capable of cutting decent sized pieces of steel and aluminum, and that would be able to do something like either finish an 80% AR lower, or possibly even make one from scratch (if I ever become that skilled). I'd also like to be able to make things like custom rings, tools for the shop, ect. Mainly, I want something that I can learn on, and that I won't feel is hindering me in a few years.

From what I've looked at so far, a lot of people are suggesting a Grizzly G0704 mill and a G0765 lathe to get started with. Are these good choices for what I'm wanting to do with them? I'd like to keep my budget under $2,500 (maybe $3,000) just to get started.

Welcome to the forum, the more research you do the better choices you will make ;)

There are lots of folks on here who share your passion and will be happy to help you, look for the folks with plenty of posts in your area of interest. Check out the projects they've made and how they did them.
Remember, buying the machine is less than half the story. Tooling costs quite a bit so getting a used set-up with extras can save you big time in the long run. New smaller machines will keep you under budget but may not serve your needs in the long run if you want to do larger projects eventually.

Go to the gunsmithing section here: