Getting started: Shop questions

ArmyDoc

Registered
Registered
Hi, I've been wanting to build a shop for several years now. I'm finally almost in a place where I can do it. I don't have a lot of experience - I worked with a CNC Mill and a manual lathe when I was an undergrad engineering student, and that's about it. I am approaching this as a hobby. I have made my living as a surgeon, first in the army, now at the VA. But I am starting to slow down, and thinking about retiring in the next 10 years. I want to explore the interests I never had time for when I was a younger man.

I think the hardest part about getting started in this is that you don't know what you don't know. I've tried to I've done a lot of reading, and I think I'm at the point where I can start asking questions and making some more concrete plans. To that end, I'm going to start three threads - the first on the shop itself, the second on the lathe and the third on the mill. Since you can't really have a shop without a location, I'll start with the shop itself. The first question people ask when people ask for advice is "What do you want to do?" So I'll try to answer that first, and then ask the quesion's I've thought of.

I have a small farm. I want to build a shop, and I've identified 4 things that I'd like to be able to do in it. First, I want to dedicate part of it for processing our animals for food. This will be non-commercial, strictly for our own food. But my wife says "Your building a shop? Great, you can move your [*stuff] out of my kitchen." So that is a must. I don't need a lot of space for this. A 4x6 cold room, a sink and a 5x5 area to do the actual processing. So, round figures, something like an 8x10 area. The actual kill and initial cleaning will be done outside, so only the hanging and cutting of the meat inside. (I know, not machinist related, but need to know what I plan for when designing the over-all shop size.)