Getting started

Ritz

Registered
Registered
I originally posted this in the practical machinist forums where I quickly found out that low budget home equipment was not to be discussed....

Quick background...my intro to machining anything was as a youngster working at the ancestral family business (a car repair and tuning shop since the 30's). So I have some experience in doing things like machining brake discs/drums and fabricating parts out of aluminum on a crude mill. Sometimes a part just wasn't available and you had to improvise. I've done some basic machining recently with a cheapo HarborFreight mill and some jigs to finish off some parts for various gunsmithing projects (another interest of mine along with hotrodding cars and woodworking).

So I've got this cheap Sieg/HF mill and some basic tooling and I'd like some advice on how to get better at this. I've thought of joining a local "maker coop". If you had an eager recruit today and could offer some advice on where to start if they were interested in doing CNC projects in materials like aluminum and wood, what advice would you give them? I've got a good job and a fair amount of space to work with and am not particularly budget constrained. Just looking to develop good habits and improve my understanding. I'm a computer guy so CNC tools have me intrigued. You mean I could just write some code and bang out cool stuff? Awesome!

Where's the best place to start?

Best,

Hello,

First, Welcome to the Hobby-Machinist!
Feel free to ask any questions here. We don't discriminate against any equipment vendors or home hobbyists.

I have no CNC experience myself, but I am sure some of our friendly, knowledgeable members will be here shortly.

-brino

Ritz,
Welcome to HM!
I'm a vintage iron guy, so no help from me, sorry.
Regardless, I won't diss you. Glad you are here!!!!

Daryl
MN

Watch out it very addicting. You probably already know that.