Gib surface?

squelch

Registered
Registered
Hello Gentlemen,

I'm very new to machining and a new 3-N-1 machine recently arrived. The handwheel to move the carriage was difficult to turn. While adjusting the gib on the back side of the carriage I noticed the face of the gib that rides against the rear way is pretty uneven and rough. I wouldn't consider it a machined surface. Since this rides against the way (a machined surface), I wondered if it needed some attention. My fear is that the uneven surface will wear grooves in the rear way.

Should the surface of the gib that rides along the way be smooth?

Thanks in advance!

- Squelch

Could the gib be in backwards?

How about a couple of pics?

Could the gib be in backwards?

How about a couple of pics?

I suppose anything is possible. Especially for a novice like myself. Here's a description of how I put it back into place. When viewed from the end, the gib is basically a parallelogram. The widest edges have to face either the way or inside edge of the saddle/carriage. Only one of the wide surfaces is machined smooth. That smooth surface also has four dimples in it that appear to line up with the gib adjustment screws. So, I assume that side faces outward toward the saddle/carriage. Leaving the rough surface riding along the way. I think if I flipped it over and put the smooth surface against the way the top edge would leave a V-shaped gap at the top; underneath the saddle/carriage.

I've read some posts (mostly on other sites) that suggest these import machines need some honing here and there. I wonder if this is one of those pieces they refer to.

I'll try to post some pics later this evening.

Thanks for your help!

- Squelch

I'll try to post some pics later this evening.

As promised here are photos showing each side of the gib in question. The first shows the machined surface with the dimples that align with the adjusting screws. The second shows the rougher surface that rides along the way.

- Squelch