[4]

Good place for sourcing end mills?

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

GunsOfNavarone

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
I have researched enough about end mill materials, coating, designs and purposes that I have enough comfort there's that I won't those questions however, any suggestions on a place to get decent end mills? My used PM-727M came with some nice ones from a place local here Colorado Mold Supply. Seems to be too quality and great performance but possibly expensive to very expensive (here's a link, let me know your thoughts) I don't mind so much if the last/perform, but also I am a novice, mistakes will be made. I'm not sure I should experiment with a 75-100 dollar end mill.
Colorado Mold Supply,
A small set maybe a cost effective way, but haven't had much luck but with Amazon and those are probably Chinese-ium or Grizzly with are a bit expensive for what I'm guessing is also Chinese.
Any links would be very appreciated as word of mouth is the best way of sourcing good products...

Trip

Registered
Search ebay for resharpened end mills . some really good deals can be had .

pacifica

RGL
An ebay seller: carbidetoolco. sells 1/2" stub refurbished carbide end mills, $6.83. I have some and they are excellent.American made, leave a great finish.

Bob Korves

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
As a novice, the first thing you should learn about is feeds and speeds. There are plenty of formulas and programs available on the web, and free slide rule types can often be had free from the bigger makers of tooling. Actually, in the real world, I have this simple speed formula in my head (with sample equations:)

(Surface feet per minute) (times 4)
______________________________________ = Spindle RPM
(cutter diameter in inches)

1018 steel at 90 sfpm X 4
____________________________ = 720 RPM
1/2" end mill

6061-t6 aluminum at 400 sfpm X 4