• We want to encourage those of you who ENJOY our site and find it USEFUL to DONATE and UPGRADE your membership from active member to donating or premium membership. If you want to know the differences in membership benefits, please visit THIS PAGE:

    https://www.hobby-machinist.com/premium/

    Donating memberships start at just $10 per year. These memberships are in fact donations that help pay our costs, and keep our site running!
    Thank you for your donation, God Bless You

  • As some of you know, I have wanted to stop managing H-M for some time. It's a tremendous strain on my personal life. I want to set up my own shop. In September, September 15, to be exact, it will be 8 years that Hobby-Machinist has been in existence.

    We've seen a lot of changes. In March, 4 moderators left to start their own site. They took some of you with them. So now you have split loyalties. You know who you are. They didn't like my way of managing this place, and thought they could do better without me. They didn't. The only thing holding them together is that they hate me. Their site was down until mid July. That is why I wanted to stay involved on here until they could learn to run this place. But they wanted me to leave right away, without the training part.

    Anyway, I have been training VTCNC to run things here. Dabbler is going to learn too. I feel that they are ready to start taking over the operation. I will be here to help in case they need, but I don't think they will. Tony Wells is and will be here also to consult with. I will be doing backups, upgrades, and installing addons. Other than that, I don't want to know about this place.

    What about the 4 moderators who were disloyal? I don't care. It isn't my call anymore. I would think that, rather than fumble, they ought to come back and do good work. That's up to them. If they want to return to try to lead more members to their site, I am done caring. I suffered too much aggravation worrying about it. I don't plan to spend any more. What they do impacts on them. I have my own opinions including those of you who followed them there. No longer my problem.

    I am leaving this place in good operating condition, and financial condition.
    --Nelson
[4]

Got a new motor for my 700 wards

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

rambin

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
154
Likes
15
#1
my lil 1/2 horse motor on my 700 has been loosing power for awhile and when taking a heavy cut it would buck and slip making a mess so ive had my eyes open for months looking for a cheap 3/4 horse... well it finaly happened 25bucks got me an older but I'm told unused 3/4 general electric motor.... shaft turned freely so I cleaned it up and installed it... the big capacitor just cleared the mounting bracket but I got it installed flipped it on and it runs like a charm... my question is when I got my lathe I replaced the missing power switch which is on the gear box as most on here would know... well with this being a 3/4 I would like to run a dedicated 220 circuit to it which means the switch wont work anymore its st/sp and would only turn off one leg of the power... room is really tight in there is there a dpdt switch that would fit? the reason I want to go dedicated as the outlet im in now is shared with prbly half a dozen other outlets in the garage, I havnt popped a breaker yet but it could happen if something else is being used in there at the same time.
 

Dave Paine

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
804
Likes
565
#2
A picture would help folks like me who do not know what the present switch looks like.

I have some 240V dpdt switches which fit in the same space as 120V spst switches, but these look the same as light switches.
 

T. J.

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Oct 31, 2015
Messages
279
Likes
331
#3
There are double pole toggle switches that will fit. I have a 3 phase motor on mine, so I have a triple pole switch in that space - it really is a tight fit!
 

markba633csi

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
2,645
Likes
1,372
#4
It's not really imperative to break both sides of the 220 v power unless it makes you nervous not to do so. The motor won't know the difference. As long as the machine is well grounded there shouldn't be any hazard. Obviously you wouldn't do any major electrical work on the wiring without flipping off the main breaker
mark
 

wa5cab

Downloads Moderator
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Dec 25, 2011
Messages
4,167
Likes
975
#5
If it is as tight as you-all imply, regardless of what the NEC says, I'd question whether or not any switch that would fit would be safe. On a lathe, the motor switch should be capable of breaking the circuit to a stalled motor in case of a crash. And yeah, I know that most early lathe manufacturers who put the motor switch in the headstock didn't use a switch large enough for that. We had a long argument on the Atlas-Craftsman list on groups.io over meeting local and NEC rules versus being reasonably safe. Personally, if I had a lathe with the motor switch in the headstock, I'd remove it.
 

Bi11Hudson

Artificer00
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Feb 13, 2017
Messages
153
Likes
192
#6
I have never trusted the OEM switches on any machine tool. The simplist fix is to use a Chinese drum switch. Yeah, they look flimsy, but the one on my Craftsman 12X36 has stood up for several years. Mounted along the front of the machine anywhere convenient. Mine is on the drip pan. (home-made) Reversing would be an issue, it could be done but you would need to get creative. The big issue is to break both lines on 240. Do not try to run it with one leg hot anytime. That's a no-no of the highest order.

I have, and use regularly, a number of 2,3, and 4 pole switches. Probably half would physically fit your situation. But for a machine tool of any sort, they just won't stand up. Use something with large contacts. As stated above, the switch has to interrupt locked rotor (stalled) current. A lightwieght switch just won't do it.

There are a number of switches from W`W Grainger and the like that will handle motor currents. But the size is out of the question. They require at least a 2X4 box. They have a "heater" to time rate the starting current. And they get real expensive real quick. The Chinese drum switches are pretty cheap.

Bill Hudson​
 

rambin

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
154
Likes
15
#7
the bull gear is dangerously close to the back of the switch and wiring..and every switch ive eve seen the wiring comes out the tail end of it.. **** poor design. I guess I will have to search amazon or someplace to see if I can find a very low profile dpdt. if I get a chance later i'll take a pic of my present switch it will prbly make some of you cringe its that close. not sure what the original one looked like it was long gone when I bought the lathe
 

markba633csi

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
2,645
Likes
1,372
#8
In your case I would add a beefy relay/contactor to the circuit to do the actual heavy lifting, and control the relay's coil with your light-duty switch. Problem solved.
mark
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top