Grinder revisited

Aaron_W

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Still looking at bench grinders, I've pretty much narrowed it down to an 8" Dewalt ($127) or an 8" Jet ($239).

Dewalt

http://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-8-in-205-mm-Bench-Grinder-DW758/202248627

Jet

http://www.homedepot.com/p/JET-1-HP...ench-Grinder-115-Volt-JBG-8A-577102/204058695

At this time my only need is sharpening 1/4" and perhaps 3/8" lathe tools. The Jet is 1 hp, vs 3/4hp for the Dewalt but it is $100 more, not sure 1/4 hp is really worth paying nearly twice as much.

It also appears the Jet tool rests are not adjustable? The Dewalt are, nit they are aluminum, the Jet tool rests are cast iron or steel.

I'm still learning about cutting tool blanks, but non-adjustable tool rests seems like it would be an issue. I've looked at both units in person on display and they seem to be of similar quality, although the accessories were not installed (Tool rests and clear shields).

Open to other suggestions, I'd prefer to stay under $200, but could go as high as $300 if it made a significant difference. I have looked at a couple of cheaper units (Ryobi, Delta etc) but all are 1/2 hp and reading comments here, you get what you pay for, usable but limited utility.

Craig's list usually has grinders listed cheep ,some times you can find an older 1/2hp that will go toe to toe with new 3/4hp grinders. Tool bits can be ground useing stationary belt sanders also.

Look at the rikons at wood craft, there are 2 models, get the bigger one. They are slow speed and of decent quality for a chinese made grinder, I do believe they come with a 5 year warranty as well and they have great customer service at rikon. For sharpening tool cutters slow speed is better in my opinion because of the reduced heat.