Grizzly G0752 lathe

DaveSWPE

Registered
Registered
Hi everyone, my 1st post here. I'm having trouble (no luck) threading with this machine. I haven't been able to to get my lathe to repeat the the thread lead on subsequent passes. The mated gears for threading ( #127 & #120 ) have a lot of radial slop to each other, so I'm going to bolt / pin them to eliminate this slop. Do you think I'm on the right track here or should I look elsewhere? Any advise is appreciated!
Thanks for listening

I am no expert, but I take a stab! Are you trying to use both gears? They are normally used together if you are doing
metric threading, in which case its my understanding, you dont want to disengage between passes. On my lathe, I
just turned the two 127/120 around so one is not even being used for standard threads 4 to 112. When they are used
together, I am assuming you have them 'keyed',which is supposed to eliminate any slop between them!
Might want to discuss in more detail what you are trying to do!!

Hope this helps
cheers

The lash in the gears means nothing if you are threading in one direction only, The only thing that will cause changes in the position is something in the gear train between the spindle and lead screw losing index, a clutch or shear pin on the screw are likely culprits.

If indeed you have chosen the wrong gears the lead will be off but it will be consistently off, it will not change the timing between passes.

Last edited:
I am no expert, but I take a stab! Are you trying to use both gears? They are normally used together if you are doing
metric threading, in which case its my understanding, you dont want to disengage between passes. On my lathe, I
just turned the two 127/120 around so one is not even being used for standard threads 4 to 112. When they are used
together, I am assuming you have them 'keyed',which is supposed to eliminate any slop between them!
Might want to discuss in more detail what you are trying to do!!

Hope this helps
cheers