Guidance requested on 8520 maintenance

palada

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi all,

For context around my questions, I'm a complete newb to machining.

I picked up a Johansson/Clausing 8520 mill a few days ago and I'm going through it checking bearings, etc.

I would like some guidance/advice on these two items please.

1. The leadscrew and nut for Y travel are very worn (.052 backlash and visually the threads don't look like acme anymore). I'll call Clausing about replacement parts, but I'm concerned that the nut on my machine doesn't resemble the one in the attached drawing. Does the nut in the attached pics look standard/correct?

2. When I got it the Y travel was very tight on the ends of the travel and moved OK in the middle. I'm thinking that's because the way is worn and the gib was over-tightened to compensate. I'm hoping it's because there was gunk buildup on the ends of the travel. I cleaned a lot of gunk from it, but I'd like to know if it needs grinding/scraping before I reassemble it. Is there a way I can measure to determine this?

Thanks

BTW, some context on the general condition of the mill: the bearings were mostly worn out and the spindle had the wrong kind, so I'm replacing them all. The wiring was funky and had the power switch on the knee so I'll redo that. A previous owner cobbled up a strange motor mount to use a longer belt. The base was replaced with a homemade angle iron stand. It had a dried up hornet nest where the quill gears should be. It was painted white (not painted well).

Attachments

• Screenshot 2023-03-05 204535.jpg
    Screenshot 2023-03-05 204535.jpg
    303.8 KB · Views: 35
  • Nut1.jpg
    Nut1.jpg
    562.7 KB · Views: 20
  • Nut2.jpg
    Nut2.jpg
    564.6 KB · Views: 19
  • Nutside.jpg
    Nutside.jpg
    610.2 KB · Views: 22
  • 00a0a_nMMgdft2yN_0t20CI_1200x900.jpg
    00a0a_nMMgdft2yN_0t20CI_1200x900.jpg
    82.6 KB · Views: 22
Last edited: