[4]

Guys, I've figured something out!

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Pcmaker

Registered
I just had an idea... lemme know if it's any good or not.

I'm new to this hobby. I ordered my lathe, but I haven't received it yet. Hopefully I'll have it by Tuesday, so I dunno if this has been tried before or not.

I"ve been watching a ton of lathe how-to videos on Youtube and there's one recurring theme about safety. Never leave the chuck key on the chuck. The plastic guard is a good idea.. preventing the operation of the machine if the key is still on the chuck.

My idea is.. why not install a key switch on the machine with the switch key machined/welded on the chuck key? Put a key switch on the machine that you can't pull out while the lathe is in operation.

Wire the main hot wire coming into the key switch, then the outgoing wire to wherever the original hot wire goes to.

Install the key switch to where it's not in the way. Sorry for the poor photoshopping skills.

The power to the machine will not operate without the key in the switch and there will be no power to the machine if the chuck key isn't inside the switch.

Chuck K

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Thats a great fix. I made the mistake of leaving the key in the chuck early on...not something I would suggest. It's also one of those things that once done, left a lasting impression on me. I've caught myself removing them from other peoples machines when I see them left on their chuck.

David S

Active User
For sure that will work. There have been similar solutions over the years. Some are to make a holder with a microswitch such that the switch won't be closed unless the chuck key is placed into the holder.

My friends Craftex lathe has a spring loaded key that you have to press down into the chuck to engage and turn overcoming a spring return. Release pressure on the key and it pops out of the chuck.

David

gaston

Active User