[4]

Harbor Freight 8x12

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

DMLCV

Registered
I have a Harbor Freight 8x12 Model 44859 and looking for the headstock thread size, Can some one help me, I believe it is a M39/4mm . I am going to change the chuck head and need the thread size and pitch. I am new at this and getting confused.

Dan

T Bredehoft

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
If you stumble around the Harbor Freight add long enough you can find the download manual for the 8 by 12. It shows that the spindle, instead of being threaded on the end, has a flange on it with three holes, (probably) tapped into it for securing the chuck.

Does your chuck have three socket head cap screws in the face? I can't see any in the add illustration.

DMLCV

Registered
I did see that, I wanted to install an new chuck head with a 3.740 " bolt circle do you think I could drill that out or what other avenue do I have.?

T Bredehoft

Active User
It would be quite a bit of work to remove the spindle, drill & tap the new holes and rebuild it.
It might be easier to make an adapter, that you would mount on the spindle, then have the new bolt circle in it, and screw the new chuck to the adapter. You'd want to pay particular attention to concentrically of the adapter. I'd use flat head screws to mount the adapter, and socket heads in the chuck.

DMLCV

Registered
Tom,
Thanks, I will think on that, As I said I am new at this and it is a learning curve. Should I look for a different spindle or is that out of the question.

Bi11Hudson

Artificer00
If I remember correctly, the spindle for your machine is tapered #3 Morse. If you took a #3 Morse taper driver and fitted a flange to it, you could have a dismountable chuck just for the tapping with a lead hammer.