Has anyone tried the new Absolute DRO Scales?

John_Dennis

Active User
Registered
Has anyone tried the new Absolute DRO scales? They are the updated Accuremote scales with a new style readout and can "remember" a zero point even when turned off.

I have never used a DRO before and don't even know if this feature is necessary or useful. I do often have a lot of delays in finishing a part, so having the DRO remember the zero point when I resume working might be nice.

I eventually want to build Yuri's Android DRO but that may not happen soon. Yuri has not has an opportunity to test these new Absolute scales with his system. So I don't know if it will work at all or if the new features will function.

Are the standard Igaging scales accurate enough? I am not very experienced with milling and I don't make close tolerance parts. Also this is an old Jet 16 import Mill/Drill that has a little slop.

Thanks

John

Last edited:
Has anyone tried the new Absolute DRO scales? They are the updated Accuremote scales with a new style readout and can "remember" a zero point even when turned off.

I've used several of this type of scale on a couple of my tools. The iGaging, Accuremote and Absolute are all of a family. They do have nice features, including remembering the zero. iGaging scales are less expensive and use aluminum scale rods. Accuremote and Absolute scales use hardened stainless steel rods. I just looked at the Absolute scales' website http://www.igaging.com/page44.html

Looks like their main "value added feature" is an improved display unit, and what looks like a nice mount for the readouts.

Most recently, I've connected three iGaging scales to a Wildhorse/Shumatech DRO350. The 350 has lots of nice features, including much easier presets, and a nice large LED numeric display.
http://www.wildhorse-innovations.com/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=2