Having my say

Bi11Hudson

Artificer00
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
For 50 odd years, I have kept my peace. Until recently, there has been no instantaneous method to communicate with others of my kind from around the world. Today I stumbled across an article that was written by "one of us" that expresses what many, including myself, have dealt with silently since the very beginning of this country. As a rule, we don't expect or even want "thanks', we just want to be acknowledged as one who did what he was called upon to do. The many authors and celebrations put on are usually by outsiders who have no concept of what they are expressing. I offer an article by someone who does understand:

It is not a day to just have a beer and a ball game. It is a day to acknowledge. . .

Morning Bill,

Thanks for sharing this. I think it speaks to what Veteran's Day is really about. Not being a veteran myself, I find it hard to relate, but it doesn't mean I can't try. The simple fact is that all humans suffer and it only takes a moment to begin to try and understand when talking with a veteran, that their suffering can be unimaginable.

The following excerpt from the article you linked to really brings home the point:

"Vets are haunted by visions of horror and death, by guilt of somehow surviving and living the good life, when some they knew are gone. They strangely wish sometimes that they were back in those dreadful circumstances, not to experience the dirt and horror and terror and noise and violence again, but to be with the only people a vet really knows, other vets."

The "strange wish" part speaks to the longing for a unique type of love, friendship, camaraderie and brotherhood that is forged in battle. It must be difficult to endure the suffering that this strange wish can never be granted, to comfort their brothers but for one more brief final moment.

This makes me think of the following sentiment from G.K. Chesterton: