Height Gauge High Jinks (Repair, Calibration, Learning)

graham-xrf

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Now that I have the freebie granite block, it is time to get some of the rest of the kit going.
I have no experience of using this stuff properly, although the principle seems obvious.

The two height gauges were acquired off an eBay auction for around £26, used, no claim to being OK, and without any correct carbide scriber parts, although it did come with two long arm carbide scribers, and an assortment of clamps, and bits.

Shardlow + Chesterman Height Gauges-1.jpg
The Chesterman is in it's black box, and the Shardlow, sans a box of it's own, is just placed across the lid. Both have a heavy, solid smooth "feel" of quality, but had been somewhat neglected. The Shardlow has little lever by the fine adjuster knob which engages or not, the worm drive and rack pinion for fine adjustment, and a larger knob at the back to quickly drive it up and down the rack gear.

The Shardlow
It was somehow broken, jammed up solid. The strip-down revealed that someone a bit heavy-handed had forcibly turned the knob, possibly when it was at limit, of maybe against the lock screws, to the extent of shearing off the two 1/16" pins through the shaft that engage the keyway of the large gear.

Shardlow Sheared Pins.jpg

The rod in the picture with it is some replacement 1/16" silver steel rod I used to push out the old pins, and make replacements. They needed some careful final rubbing to make them fit exactly in the 0.05" high keyway, but they slid on with a firm push from the fingers.
Gear function restored!

While it was apart, I cleaned it up, removed the corrosion and flaking paint , and gave it the new cream paint job on the face under the rack gear, and under the base.

Shardlow Front Side.jpg

.. and here is the rear side, showing the rack gear.
Shardlow Rear Side.jpg