Helical Couplings

grepper

Registered
Registered
So, the motors I ordered have an ~8 mm shaft.

http://us.stepperonline.com/3pcs-of...motor-35a-31nm439-ozin-24hs343504d-p-398.html

The CNCFusion site says the helicals they have will only work on 1/4" shaft - not exactly ~8 mm. Is that going to be a problem? If so, is it worth sending the motors back and getting different ones?

What about this? Way less than $25 from Fusion.
http://www.amazon.com/uxcell-5mmx8mm-Helical-Coupler-Coupling/dp/B00KHTVOEU
Shaft Usage : 5mm to 8mm / 0.2" to 0.31"(1/5" to 5/16");Length : 25mm / 0.98"

It seems to indicate motor shaft from 5 mm to 8 mm. How does that work? By carefully centering the shaft using the surrounding set screws?

Geeze. I can't seem to do anything with endless questions arising!

I hear the helical couplers tend to load up and cause backlash issues, apparently the flex disc type are better.

Others with more experiance with them may have better info.

Stuart

I have no experience using helical couplings so I can't comment on how well they will work with your setup. For reference on my PM-932 conversion I use double disk diaphragm style couplings and I can't detect any backlash associated with the couplings. Cost was about $21 each on eBay.

Tom S.

Mark:

You need to get couplings that have the correct bore(s) for the shafts being used - the one you linked to is 5mm on one end and 8mm on the other.
Couplings that are split through the hub and clamp onto the shaft are a better solution than those relying on setscrews. Like the type shown with the integral clamps here.

Personally - I've never had great success with beam (helical) couplings, but that was in applications that usually ran 16 to 24 hours a day. If you have three the same, I would recommend buying a spare.

Last edited:
An Oldham coupling is very good in this usage. Available from McMaster and others. The helical are available in the size you need. Ebay is a good place for them.