Help identifying a chuck and other accessories

Clintd

Registered
Registered
Keep in mind that I'm a novice at best and have a lot to learn. So with that said, here it goes.

I have a JET BD-1325R lathe that I've been tinkering with and I'm often asked what type of chuck am I using and what type of mount does it have, well I thought 3 jaw was enough of an answer and I thought wrong. Also I have another chuck that mounts in the tail stock with an adapter and its something I've never seen before or even know what it would be used for

Here is the chuck after I unbolted it to see what the back looked like.IMG_0243.JPGIMG_0241.JPG
And here is the picture of the tail stock chuck and the adapter. IMG_0244.JPGIMG_0245.JPG
And finally, her is a picture of my little setup in the corner of my basement.IMG_0246.JPG

The backing plate and chuck usually come off together as one unit.
You should be able to find a manual for the lathe online.
The morse taper tail stock chuck just adds options. You have a steady rest, that's great.
Youtube is a great source for learning skills and finding some answers to your questions.
Metal work is a very satisfying hobby.
Welcome, enjoy the journey.

The backing plate and chuck usually come off together as one unit.
You should be able to find a manual for the lathe online.
The morse taper tail stock chuck just adds options. You have a steady rest, that's great.
Youtube is a great source for learning skills and finding some answers to your questions.
Metal work is a very satisfying hobby.
Welcome, enjoy the journey.

Thank you, I’ve used YouTube a lot and I’ve learned quite a bit, but somethings I don’t even know how to describe in order to get relevant answers. Anyway, so I didn’t actually remove the chuck is what you’re saying? So the piece still on the headstock is part of the chuck? I’m guessing that piece screws on as I also have other parts that have a large threaded hole in the center.
292e34e52cdd02de084865bad95c52c9.jpg