Help me get over the hump

Lowlyslows

Registered
Registered
Hey all,

I am new to machining and could use some opinions.

I am trying to justify purchasing a lathe for my hobbies, mainly building classic cars. But, because of my ignorance with the use of a lathe, I can’t picture what I would use it for other than making spacers, bungs, and parts for creating or fixing tools. Not sure how often I would actually use the lathe.

Looking at the Little Machine Shop 5100 HiTorque 7x16 Lathe and the Precision Matthews 1022v lathe. I have toyed with spending the extra $100 to get the PM 1030v but I don’t know if I will need the extra length.

Anyway, could use some knowledge dropped on me to help me get over the hump on whether to make the purchase or not. Machining is fascinating to me and I know I would enjoy it but only if I actually do it / use it to support my main hobby in any shape or form.

Thanks in advance!

As a Hobby, you will never be able to justify it.
You have to be Selfish, self centered, egotistic, mongrel bastard. At least that is what my missus called me the last time.

The point is, if you are concerned about money, PLEASE NOTE, that the lathe or mill, is the cheap bit. All the tooling is the main piece of the pie.

But, Fair Dinkum. Do it, Buy what you can afford. In 38 years, I can not remember having anything over 12" in my lathe. ( 36" centers). But one day it will be too bloody small by 1"!!!!!
Restoring old cars, will not justify the lathe, but shoot it's nice, when you do have a job for it and you actually make something that is practical, usefull and worth while.
Best of Luck to you.

[QUOTE="Lowlyslows, post:

I am trying to justify purchasing a lathe for my hobbies, mainly building classic cars. I can’t picture what I would use it for other than making spacers, bungs, and parts for creating or fixing tools.![/QUOTE]