Help me pick test indicator and holder

JoeC

Registered
Registered
Hi,

I'm kind of new to machining and need to acquire a test indicator and holder for my Grizzly G0775 mill and Baleigh 13x40 lathe. At this time I can buy one good indicator and holder. I am thinking Tesatast/Bestest and Noga. In addition, I could also afford a cheapo with less resolution if that makes any sense.
In addition to general not extremely precise machining, I will be threading a few gun barrels.

Test indicators:
What would be the most useful test indicator as far as resolution/range/stem? I think in inches, not metric.
I am thinking .001 or .0005.
What stem length is most useful for general work?
Can I get a short stem model and change to a long stem when I want to get up in a barrel? I know the reading would be off.
Or is changing stems a bad idea for a nice indicator?

Holders:
Noga's come in NF, DG, MG, MA sizes for their articulated holders.
Their post holders are much more affordable, and have more reach. Ph3100, 2040, 4016.
I have no idea what is a practical size.

What is your advice?

Thanks,
Joe

Joe, I'm with you re Swiss dti's. However, you have to be careful nowadays because some of the indicators that have long been made in Switzerland are now being made in China, including some Bestest indicators. Hexagon has apparently succumbed to the world economy and is outsourcing. If the dial says "Swiss Made" then it is made in Switzerland. If it does not, then it isn't.

I tend to favor Compac indicators. One of the best is the Compact 214GA, a long travel dti with a large, easy to read dial that is calibrated in 0.0005" units. For a general purpose dti, this is the one I prefer. Here is one on ebay now and it is brand new at a decent price: https://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Compac...180975?hash=item5203aff32f:g:eh8AAOSwFnxaUaZ2