[4]

[How do I?] Help! Trying to figure out wiring on my new to me mill!

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Armourer

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
71
Likes
58
#1
Well the time had finally came to move my new mill into the shop, but I have no idea how its wired right now. On the electrical junction box on the back theres a sticker that says 110V or 220V 1 Phase 4 wire. Which makes sense as the cord out of the back is a four wire cord to the wall. So I went to the motor on it and took the junction box apart on it and theres just 3 wires going to it, one ground wire, a white and a black. Not four wires. I have a 110v 20 amp plug right were I want to put the mill, question is how to I wire the motor to run on the 110V? Or should I get an electrician to come wire a 220V plug for me? The mill in question is a Craftex B048. Thanks all.
 

benmychree

John York
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Messages
2,443
Likes
1,823
#2
Plug it into 110V and see what happens; if the motor starts with vigor, you're good to go, if it is lethargic, it is likely connected for 220V.
You say you looked into the junction box, does that mean the connection box on the motor? If not, find that box and look inside, and if there are four wires, you have a dual voltage motor, likely if the (possible) 4 wires are hooked in pairs to the power, it is connected for low volts, if connected with supply to 2 of the wires and two are hooked together and taped over, it is connected for high volts.
 

Technical Ted

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
640
Likes
614
#3
Does the motor have a tag on it? Typically, motors have a tag on them with all the information you need, including how to wire if dual voltage. If you can find a tag on the motor, but don't understand how to interpret the information on how to wire, take a picture of it and post it here and someone can help you.

Ted
 

Armourer

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
71
Likes
58
#4
Thanks for the replies, there is no plug on the end of the cord just 4 bare wires on it. There is a junction box were the 4 wires go to, theres no wiring diagram under it and under the motor junction box there is no diagram either and also no tag on it. I can try and take a few pics here and post them. If I can figure out how to do that lol.
 

ttabbal

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
701
Likes
698
#5
4 bare wires makes me think 220V, L1, L2, Neutral, Ground. Not that Neutral makes a lot of sense on most machines and is unused. None of my 220V stuff uses it and I don't connect it.

You might have to trace out the wiring and figure out how it's set up. If you got it used, you might ask the previous owner how they had it wired. That would at least give you a clue about how it's set up.
 

Technical Ted

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
640
Likes
614
#6
I'm wondering if there was at one time a reversing switch that was or gets wired in??? Do you need to be able to reverse the motor?

I'm just taking stabs in the dark here with the limited information we have to work with...

Ted
 

pacifica

RGL
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
157
Likes
79
#7
Reversing is always nice to have, but used much more on a lathe.

Use a multitester to see the voltage on each line.Gives us more info.
 

Armourer

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
71
Likes
58
#8
Power cord comes in this JB

IMG_3608.JPG





This is inside the JB were the power cord comes into
IMG_3610.JPG

Motor wires here inside the JB please note that I have disconnected the wires going to the motor as I had to pull it off. I labeled them as I took them off, Black and White.

IMG_3611.JPG



This is inside the power switch to turn it on,

IMG_3609.JPG


Something I never said before was that there is also a 110V plug on the side of the mill, for the DRO and also the power feed. Hope this helps, I can try and get more or better pics if it would help! Thanks again all!
 

Armourer

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
71
Likes
58
#9
There is no reverse switch on it either, I don't know why they never put a wiring diagram any where on it, I bought it at an auction so I have no info on the previous owner. I have the owners manual and it doesnt show in there how to wire it either..
 

markba633csi

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
2,906
Likes
1,506
#10
Those have a 3/4hp motor which is right on the border of 120 or 240 volt for efficiency. 240 volt would be preferred; runs cooler and easier on the switches (less current)
Try it on 120 first
mark
 

markba633csi

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
2,906
Likes
1,506
#11
The power feed is probably 120 volt only, the spindle motor could be wired for 120 or 240 I believe
m
 

Armourer

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
71
Likes
58
#12
Ok so I think I got this thing figured out. The sticker on the junction box that says 110v 220v is correct, as there is 220V being brought in, and also there is 110v in it to provide power for the power feed and DRO. So it will only run on 220v and can't be converted over. So I phoned an electrician buddy and he can install the proper 220V 4 wire plug for me for around $200 or so. One problem I have is that I would like to test the machine to see if it works before I get the plug installed. Would it be ok to wire a 3 wire plug on the end of the cord and plug it into the plug for my lathe to test? Lathe plug is 220V, and of course I would leave the power feed and DRO unplugged to test the motor. Thanks all
 

markba633csi

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
2,906
Likes
1,506
#13
That would probably be OK, but be prepared to shut off the power quickly if there is a problem
good luck and be safe
The Craftex B048 may have been sold by other manufacturers such as Grizzly, Jet, or Busy Bee with a different model number. You might have a look online and see if you can turn up a manual/wiring diagram that way
mark
 
Last edited:
[6]
[5] [7]
Top