Help understanding what tool / speed to use?

vimes1984

Registered
Registered
Hello all!
first of thank you so much for taking the time to read this, I am a complete newby to machining.

I've just purchased a second hand mini lathe:
"conquest super lathe" 7X14'' ,
Conquest_Super_540x.png
for very cheap it comes with this set of carbine tools:

tungsten-carbide-lathe-tool-set-8mm-536001
536001_xl.jpg
This secondary chuck: axminster clubman sk100 woodturning chuck
ax915228
504537_xl.jpg

--------
and this arbor: mt2-arbor-m33-x-3-5
200082007885_74147.jpg
Morsekegel.jpg

Now to the crux of the matter the arbor needs to be turned to remove the wider part of the arbor just above the visible black thread. I need to remove quite a bit of the arbor to allow the arbor to nestle into the back of the chuck so the thread grips it into the chuck so I can then fit it to the lathe.

I have absolutly no idea if this can be done on the small conquest, or I need to send this peice off, or if I need to send the chuck of for a custom arbor to be made or if I can buy a arbor...

I really need some guidance, I'd love to use the arbor that the job lot is coming with but again:
I have no clue if this can be done on this lathe?
If it can what tool to use HSS/ Carbine/ Tugsten ?
Kind regards
Chris

Those look like stock photos can you send some ones of the actual machine, arbor and the of the back of the chuck? The carbide tools should be able to turn it down but it might be case hardened, see how easily you can scratch it with a file.

Hello @vimes1984,

First, welcome to the Hobby-Machinist!

Congratulations on the new tools, that is always exciting.

To be able to give you better guidance, I would like to know more about your lathe and chuck.
Notice the lathe in your first picture uses a "back-plate" to mount the chuck to the lathe spindle.
Like this:
iu

That is usually done when the lathe has a threaded spindle nose.
The chuck is bolted to the back-plate.