HELP!!! What type of drawing set up

Jeff May

Registered
Registered
I'm looking for some incite on just exactly what most home/hobby machinists use these days to do layouts, designs and drawings.
I'm currently looking at an old drafting table with 2 drafting heads and a bunch of older drafting supplies in the drawers.
My questions,
How many still use the "old" school way of sketching up drawings of the parts you want to make?
How many have switched over to a CAD program for the same purpose?

I don't know much about CAD other than what I have seen on videos of people explaining their projects.
I really like the idea of staying "old school" and getting the drafting table and contents, but at the same time from what I've seen CAD appears to be the way to go
At least its on the computer and not a large desk sized object taking up a lot of room in the shop.

Can anyone recommend an entry level CAD program that can be self taught?

Thank you for any info you might be able to provide...
Jeff in Hagerstown

I just saw the earlier posting answering my questions...
Should have read further down,
Please remove this post...
Thanks

Last edited:
Try Fusion360! It is free for hobbyists like us. It is also pretty easy to learn especially with the amount of youtube videos showing how to use it. It is also all you need if you want to get a 3D printer or CNC equipment.

I used Fusion 360 to make a simple design of a u-joint pusher for my jeep in about 10-20 minutes.
You can see the drawings at the beginning of this video. (I'm still on the learning curve on using a mill proficiently.)

I still have my drafting arm and T-square but don't use it much anymore.

Chris

Last edited: