Help with adjusting LMS 5200 lathe

Ckormann

Registered
Registered
Hi all,

I am new to machining and recently purchased an LMS 5200 lathe. I am having a difficult time adjusting the cross slide and the compound.

I am struggling to get the cross slide to move freely but be tight enough that it does not lift, for example, on a facing cut. I have the same issue with back lash. I have to make it pretty tight to remove the backlash, but then there is too much resistance when trying to move the cross slide.

I also have a back lash type behavior with the compound, but it is not back lash in the true sense. It is caused by the way the compound lead screw is held in place. There is about 20 thousands of play that the lead screw has with the bushing (for lack of the proper word to describe it) that holds the lead screw in place.

If anyone has experience with the LMS 5200 I would greatly appreciate your advice.

Thank you,
Chris

I'm not familliar with that model, but a lot of things are common between different lathes. One thing I can tell you is that you don't address backlash by tightening your gibs. The issue with your compound could be as simple as tightening the nuts at the handle to pull the slop out of it. Or it may have a worn screw and nut. Is it a used machine?

Thank you for responding. I didn't mean to imply I was trying to resolve back lash by adjusting the gibs. I should have been clearer about that. What I was trying to say was that in adjusting the gibs and the set screws for backlash, I can get the cross slide to be tight to the dovetail and still move easily, or I can get rid of back lash and have the cross slide still move easly. But I have been unable to have the cross slide tight to the dovetail and get rid of back lash and still move easily. I hope that makes sense.

Also, It is a new lathe.

Chris

Last edited:
Was it built crooked? It sounds like your crosslide screw is binding.