Hey hey let's do a treadmill motor thread!

To be on the safe side I would fuse it for the max that the board supports,1.5hp, 15 amp. That will protect the board if you push the motor too hard.
Im not an electrical engineer but to answer your questions, yes, no, and yes. You will in a sense loose the ability to use all 2.5hp.
Without the fuse the board would probably burn out if you pushed that motor full out because it would try to supply the power needed to run the motor.
This is my opinion, I’m sure others will have more to add.

Thank you for your ideas. I'm not knowledgable in this area. I can wire a house all day, but electronics aren't my forte.

Hukshawn: the "horsepower" resistor is just a low value power resistor, used for the current sensing; you can make one or buy one. The ohm value is determined by the horsepower of the motor you have. Here is a chart that lists the resistor values vs motor HP. Treadmill motors are typically way overrated in terms of horsepower, which means you'll have to make an educated guess as to the power resistor required. I'd say start at about 3/4 hp. so you would need about a 0.015 ohm resistor at about 5 watt.
Mark

Attachments

• KBresistchart.pdf
    605.3 KB · Views: 5
Last edited:
These motor speed controls are controlled by pulses from the 'increase' and 'decrease' buttons. The more puses from the former, the faster the motor will run - and the more pulses from the latter the slowere it it go.
Disconnect the head unit wiring altogether and find the 'up' 'down' and 'grd' terminals (usually labelled) and hook ap a loose wire to the 'grd', then hook up the power and the motor. The touch the 'up' (or 'incr' terminal multiple times until the mptpr runs - then test the speed range by touching it more often. Each touch should increase the speed a fraction more. When you stop touching the terminal with the ire end, the motor should continue running at the speed its at.