Holding Small Rods?

jouesdeveaux

Registered
Registered
I am TOTALLY new to machine work and have a Grizzly G8688 about to arrive. Does a mini-lathe such as this one need special equipment to work on (threading) small rods, say 1/16"~ 3/32" in diameter? Do I need to buy collets, a collet chuck, and a draw bar?

I am TOTALLY new to machine work and have a Grizzly G8688 about to arrive. Does a mini-lathe such as this one need special equipment to work on (threading) small rods, say 1/16"~ 3/32" in diameter? Do I need to buy collets, a collet chuck, and a draw bar?
With that small size material you will be limited on how much material you can stick out of your 3 jaw chuck, but it will work just fine. If you intend to thread long distances along the rods, then you should have a follow rest or just single point a few threads on the lathe and finish using a die .Remember to use some quality cutting oil when threading. -- Good luck with your projects

Make sure your chuck can close down tight enough.

Collets would be the best choice for that small dia.

With that small size material you will be limited on how much material you can stick out of your 3 jaw chuck, but it will work just fine. If you intend to thread long distances along the rods, then you should have a follow rest or just single point a few threads on the lathe and finish using a die .Remember to use some quality cutting oil when threading. -- Good luck with your projects

I intend to make stainless steel 0.083" D rods 2~4" long with 4mm of thread on each end. They are used in certain kinds of Sheaffer fountain pens of the 1930s-40s. I repair them and I'm running out of supplies from NOS and old junkers.

If the threaded section is only ~4mm in length (.080") a HSS split adjustable die should work quite well. Pick a good grade of stainless and use some thick cutting oil.