Home made hand scraper

I started with an old file. It worked on the really soft cast iron of my import lathe. Then I tried scraping a piece of durabar, and found myself sharpening it every 2 or 3 strokes. Shortly after that I purchased an Anderson scraper, and also made one myself from a small piece of carbide brazed to the end of a piece of flat stock with a file handle fitted to the end. Both work great. One cost me about $100, the other cost me about $10. Gotta tell you, carbide stays sharp WAY longer than carbon steel.
I asked a question facebook abput the issue with my experimental scraper getting blunt it was of a file and two three strokes on a disc brake and went blunt.now i see why use carbide.

I'm really new to this, so please bear with me. I'm in the process of restore a late model Craftsman 12 and the bed looks pretty bad after getting it home and cleaned up a little. Anyway, started looking into scraping and saw in various places on the web that the blade should be straight with maybe the corners rounded and I've seen some with curved. I see vettebob uses a curved shape. Are there any reason why one might be used ove the other or for maybe a specific purpose. I have no machining experience but would consider myself above average in the mechanically inclined department. Does the curve give you a more aggressive bite?
Curve so it wont scratch the work and also creates alley when finished.

I asked a question facebook abput the issue with my experimental scraper getting blunt it was of a file and two three strokes on a disc brake and went blunt.now i see why use carbide.
I have been wondering if a turned or turned and ground disc brake rotor was a good thing to practice scraping. How does it compare to ways and beds for info purposes ? I'm a bit late in life to go to Richard's school but need to get some oil pockets in an old surface grinder .