Homemade lathe tool holders

NormBourne

Active User
Registered
Ivevgot an el cheapo Chinese lathe, it's ok for what it is but I'm under a bit of stress regarding the existing tool holder arrangement.

Every time I do something I have to mess around inserting shims etc for different tools.

I am a complete amateur in turning and would appreciate some advice in building a tool holder with the facility to simply adjust tool height with no drama.

Ive no doubt that there would be a proprietary readily available item but cost for me st least, is a factor.

Thanks guys,

Norm.

I am a complete amateur in turning and would appreciate some advice in building a tool holder with the facility to simply adjust tool height with no drama.

Ive no doubt that there would be a proprietary readily available item but cost for me st least, is a factor.

Thanks guys,

Norm.

Do a search for "quick change tool post" plans,drawings I know I've seen free plans in various spots around the net.:))
I personaly like the "turret tool post" I've made 2 for my myford and machined them so there the perfect center height with no shimming, one for 3/16 and the other for 1/4 tools.:))

Last edited:
I made my own toolholders for my QCTP and it was definitely worth the effort - it cost me about $1.50 per toolholder for the materials. Of course, this is not including the cost of labor ("free" since I was doing it for myself); however, I would add that the amount of time it took to make these is not great, especially if you set up a kind of production line. I would also say that if you decide to make these, it's worthwhile to make a bunch at the same time as this reduces the effort per unit, and you can't really have too many. If you make these for a dovetail type QCTP you will need some kind of milling capability.

Getting a QCTP for my lathe was one of the best purchases I ever made, and having additional toolholders for the QCTP is even better.

You can see a build log and links to plans here: