How does this dial indicator rate?

chiroone

Registered
Registered
I just purchased the PM 835s, a Homge 5 inch vise and I’m looking for something to help tram the mill as well as set the vice. How would this dial indicator rate for the job? Does it appear to have all the attachments necessary? I’m a complete newbie to this hobby, last time I operated mill was back in high school, and I think Nixon might’ve still been in the White House if that gives you an idea

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mitutoyo-5...018763?hash=item1a3480fecb:g:Hn4AAOSwWaRZq4b9

I think the one you propose would be a better choice; you do not need a magnetic base for the uses you are asking, the indicator would be held in a drill chuck or collet.

I think the mag base ones are far more versatile for his future, unforeseen, jobs. Now I did pick out a Noga that does not have the indicator with it. If going this route find an offer that includes a quality indicator.

My favorites for the what you describe are one of these three (depending on resolution needed).
http://www.tesatechnology.com/en-gb...models-p1930.htm?redirect=1&c=fr#.WmBgkP2WyM8
The link doesn't seem to show everything I intended. The model numbers are 599-7024-3, 599-7037-3 and 599-7038-3.
They are much more expensive and come new with only a swivel stem. Accessories, these days, seem crazy expensive to me. three to five times as much as when I was accumulating.

The Mitutoyo kit you linked will be an excellent tool and serve you well.
I like the long slender body which will allow you access to tight areas.
You'll want another rod and clamp to add to the kit so you 'll be able to tram larger diameter circle. One rod in the spindle, the second rod clamped at the appropriate angle and the DTI clamped to the second rod.
IMO, you can't have too many different indicator holders/accessories.

One day you'll probably want a .001" reading, dovetail mount DTI and a drop indicator w/ magnetic stand for additional options.

Last edited: