• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

How make a disk?

January Project of the Month [3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Bill Kahn

This is a total beginner question. I need to make a 2” diameter aluminum disk 1/4” thick. Nicely machined on both sides and the perimeter. This must be a routine operation. I guess I grab 3/16” of the perimeter with the three jaw and do one side. Maybe with some sort of standoff’s I repeat for the other and get the second face parallel to the first.

Now how do I machine the edge to finished diameter and nice finish? How do you “grab” it?

Thanks.

-Bill (PM1030V)

benmychree

John York
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
You can put a center hole in it and push the blank against the chuck jaws, set to a diameter a little less than the finished diameter of the disc. If you use enough pressure against the disc and take light cuts, it should work well. If you can't tolerate the center drill, make another (smaller) disc to apply the pressure, and add some double sticky tape in between, or just a piece of paper.
To do the sides, put a spacer behind the blank to space it out enough beyond the face of the chuck jaws to allow for cleanup on the second side.

mcostello

Active User
What is the size of the stock You are starting with? A 1 1/2" piece of stock faced off would hold a small disc with pressure sensitive tape to finish one side and the edge. Use small careful cuts then flip the part and finish.

DHarris

H-M Supporter - Premium Member