How to bore tapered ID for split taper bushing?

dado5

Registered
Registered
I am making a drive wheel for my belt grinder out of aluminum. 2" wide, 4.5" dia. My drive shaft on the motor is 7/8" with a key slot. I have a browning split taper bushing. I have never used one before and will be making this on my lathe. I have the large end and small end diameters from the literature. How do these bushings work? when I have the final dimensions will the bushing not slide all the way in and then by screwing it in I am compressing the bushing onto the shaft for an interference fit. How far out from a flush fit will the bearing be prior to using the screws? Anybody have any pics of these in use? I don't want to screw up this piece of aluminum.

The ones I have put together slide together easily 1/4" - 3/8" short of being flush. The bushing does get compressed onto the shaft. I have assembled many of them but none were aluminum (I suspect that aluminum will work OK). Note: if you lubricate the taper, it is possible to apply enough force to split a large cast iron pulley with three small bolts.

Reactions: Z2V
If I remember correct, the Browning taper lock bushing is on a .750" taper per foot or 1 deg. 45 minutes off of centerline.:big grin: A sine bar may help here too. I used my compound to cut the taper with when I used to do this. I would take the bushing, chuck on it gently, true it up and indicate my compound in. When I get it where the bushing is in the bore about halfway, start blueing it for correct taper. Don't take too much cut at a time or you will bore it oversize in a heartbeat. When the bushing is snug by hand, the standoff should be about 3/16" to a 1/4" gap between the bushing and workpiece.

Note: if you lubricate the taper, it is possible to apply enough force to split a large cast iron pulley with three small bolts.

True statement, I split one last year.

Last edited: