How to clean lathe

Bobbycoke

Registered
Registered
I am new to machining [dad had a lathe and I learnt on it 55=58 years ago] now at 70 have purchased a 1939 Southbend 9C lathe it is in great condition and came with a great deal of tooling. It was in a basement and we [my best friend and I ] spent a day disasembling it to carry it up the stairs!!!!!!How can a lathe that weighs 350 lbs have 4 components that must weigh 200 lbs each ????? Any how we broke it down to tailstock,headstock, motor with holder , crossfeed, and bed with transmission.......loaded it in my van and off to it's new home...Now the question before we put it back together [ my buddy will help as he documented the teardown with notes, pix, marked part baggies he is super smart] Now as I unload I want to clean it and the grease/grime off the internal pieces [replace any oil felts etc.] while appart, then reassemble and let the chips fly!!! So what do you use as a cleaner degreaser , pop always used Kerosene.........what is best as I also would prefer non flammable or toxic........sprays etc carb cleaner? simple green ? I will relube as I reassemble, thanks for your knowledge..........Bobbycoke

Many solvents will work.

When I cleaned my Southbend Heavy 10 I used one of the purple coloured degreasers, may have been Purple Power or Super-Clean foaming degreaser. These work, just be aware they are good for steel, but will remove paint and not good for aluminium, so if any aluminium components, clean and rinse do not allow the part to soak.

Some parts the old gunk will be packed hard. This was my QCGB before cleaning. I attempted to clean without disassembling, but the gunk in the teeth refused to come out, even using toothbrush and the degreaser.

Southbend_Heavy_10_gearbox_before_cleaning_2915.jpg

I dis-assembled so I could get each component cleaned. A lot of work, but I think it was worthwhile.

Southbend_Heavy_10_gearbox_cleaned_ready_for_install_2935.jpg