[4]

How to do fine threads

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

blue_luke

Registered
Registered
Hello all!
The things I intend to fabricate are audio microphones accessories. (I am a sound engineer)

This pose a few problems.... I own a Precision Matthews PM1127 lathe. This is a nice machine and I am happy with it, but the most standard thread size for mounting microphone bracket is 5/8"-27tpi On the charts given on the machine, there is no gear combination to cut this thread!
Also, I build my own microphones and I would like to learn how to cut fine threads like the ones used in photography lenses and filters.
This way I can use some nice capsules I have (Schoeps, AKG etc) to preamps and contraptions of my design or design accessories circuits like pads and low-frequancy roll-offs...
For those who don't understand this giberish,,, it all boils down to be able to thread fine threads on thin tubular brass or aluminium tube.
Right now I have no specifications to give, it is more the technique of holding the parts in a chuck, what geometry the cutting tool should have, how to avoid distortion in the finished parts...

Sincerely, Luc

mikey

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Did your lathe come with a change gear set? If so, you can calculate the gears needed and hopefully find the right gears in the set.

As for geometry, if you use a HSS tool then a standard 60 degree tool should suffice.

Holding the stock depends on the size. A collet will hold it without distorting or damaging the tubular stock. A 6 jaw chuck will work better than a 4 jaw will but that gets expensive.

Ray C

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
Staff member
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)