Huanyang vfd puts out 175v instead of 220v

Transformers are design for specific operating frequency, more or less less sine waves, the sharp on/off pulse of a VFD is more like hitting a brick wall and the primary current goes vertical as Jim mentioned. VFD is probably toasted. Electronics, switch gear, contactors/coils, capacitors... also do not play nice being fed with the output of a VFD. There are types of transformers used on the output of VFDs which are specifically for that application and operated at a fixed frequency. There is mention of this for larger motors for wells, offshore submersible applications, etc. where the higher voltage = smaller cables/wires. Very expensive. I am a doctor not an engineer, so I just know what I read and have been installing/working with VFDs for the past 10 years.

What is typically done is to use a step-up transformer before the VFD, and then use the VFD to drive the 3 phase motor. The additional problems you would encounter, would be if feeding this with single phase then the VFD size would need to be ~doubled (5 Hp) to operate in a derated mode and it may not operate at all because of phase loss. Additional problem is the VFD voltage spikes on an older motor cause much more rapid degradation of the insulation and motor bearings (i.e., don't do it on an old 600V motor). Easiest approach is a 230V RPC to your current step-up transformer for 600V 3 phase to the machine. If you want VFD speed control, replace the motor with a 230VAC 3 phase motor.

The saw has an infinitetly variable vbelt drive so no need for the variable speed feature. I think I will go with a rpc. Thanks for the education. I am $130 poorer but better informed than I was this morning. Live and learn.

The failure was most likely because you connected the load while the VFD was running. But even so, it would have been an inefficient setup.
An expensive lesson for sure
M