• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • PLEASE SUPPORT OUR FORUM - UPGRADE YOUR ACCOUNT HERE!
[4]

Hypothetical question: VFD Motor on Hercus 9” and removing pulleys

January Project of the Month [3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Dave022

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
4
Likes
1
#1
I have a Hercus 9” Model A that I am going to restore. The trouble I have is limited space. I understand that the pulleys allow higher torque at lower speeds. But would it be possible to use a 1.5 KW motor for example, and remove some pulleys whilst still generating high enough torque?
 

Chipper5783

Active User
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2014
Messages
661
Likes
504
#2
Yes. Your question of "will it still generate enough torque?" is a bit like asking if a truck is strong enough to carry that much weight. It obviously depends on how much weight and how much truck.

You should be able to calculate the amount of torque developed based on the original set up and compare that to your proposed set up. How much derating you'll accept is up to you.
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
H-M Supporter-Premium Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
0
Likes
9
#3
1.5kw is plenty enough hp & torque for a 9" lathe.

i have a 3/4 Hp (.559 Kw) motor on my Hercus ARH 922.
it makes all but the very deepest cuts just fine with the OEM gearing and pulleys.
you won't have to change anything
 
Last edited:

JimDawson

Global Moderator
Staff member
Active Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
6,650
Likes
4,797
#5
Looked at the motor plate today and it says that it is 115V, in NZ we are on 240V how would this be possible?
That motor is a dual voltage also capable of running on 230 volts. It's probably wired for 230 if you got it locally. But it is a single phase motor so running on a VFD is not possible.
 

countryguy

Active User
Active Member
Joined
May 7, 2014
Messages
764
Likes
213
#6
I ordered a nice Alu. frame WEG motor a few year back. This allowed me to get into a VFD rated motor w/ a constant torque (CT) and make it run w/ the VFD the way it should. Price wise, it even very reasonable. They have sales engineers that are bored and like to talk about some of the different hobby stuff. Mine did anyway. Call them to assist! Engineers love to chatter on don't we. :rolleyes: ....ask my wife.
 

Dave022

Swarf
Registered Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
4
Likes
1
#7
Thank you, realised that this couldn't be VFD; obviously didn't read the plate properly. I will look into the WEG motor. Originally I was wondering if I could remove the countershaft assembly to save room but I think I can see the advantages of VFD anyway; especially if I want to cut metric threads on my imperial machine
 

12bolts

Global Moderator
Staff member
Active Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
1,953
Likes
405
#8
Have you considered a DC motor, (think treadmill) and go from there. Bulk HP in a small package. Max torque at zero RPM. All you need is a variable DC supply. Which coincidentally, your run of the mill treadmill already has installed as standard OEM

Cheers Phil
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top