[4]

I have made the decision to CNC it!

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

7HC

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
640
There's another $34 of your money gone Hawkeye!:whistle:

Seriously though, it's an easy and inexpensive way to retain full manual control of your machine after it's CNC'd and lost its handles.


M
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
You guys are a bad influence. Today, I ordered a 4-axis set of 34s in the 878 size, c/w driver board, power supply, cable and a Mach3 disk. I followed the eBay link in Steve's lathe CNC build.

Then I got back to work on my old desktop computer. The hard drive had failed a few years ago. I have another one, loaded with XP, but the peripheral drivers went with the old drive. I stuck the usable drive in an external carrier and downloaded the drivers from my laptop, then installed it in the desktop and ran the setups. Now, the old computer will connect to my network and even access the internet. I think I'll need a small flat-screen monitor. Do you know how much of my shop would be lost to a 19" CRT?

That's a few items checked off the list. It sure helps to have a few people working on the same project at the same time.
mike
what is a c/w driver board?
steve
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
Well I dragged out the other computer, the desktop is indeed a Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit OS! So I will have to indeed get my daughter to get me the disc with the Windows 7 Pro so that I can take advantage of the Virtual XP mode.

I spent last night reading the pdf's on Mach3, the more I read it, the more I like it! Found a couple of vids Steve that you will like, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2w8cYXt5_o , http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-cAnQqpXs0

After seeing what Hoss did with his Freak mill with the lathe attachment and watching this vid, though I had already had this in mind. For what I am wanting to do, I am thinking that I may not need to get a lathe in the future, just do it all on the mill. Might have to get another mill further down the line, but as long as I can do my 7/8-14 threading on the part on the mill either in 4th axis or on the spindle.. than for me, I will not need a lathe.

Doc

PS: Steve, I didn't ask that in order to see if I could get you in trouble, but after reading the pdf on Mach3, I don't think that I will need the limit switches, but I may want the home switches to ramp up a part, if I set everything to that home switch.
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
i was just kidding around
but i did do the wiring and buy the parts
i also wired in coolant and spindle on and off control and didnt use it either.
steve
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
Well I downloaded eMachineShop and got it on the other computer. If I had a printer, I could drawup some templates. Your asking why would I want to do that, metric screws and .0625 dials. Also the worm gear for the fine feed is not all that fine! One .015 cut could be .011 and the next one could be .017. The accurate movement is not there.. and there is so much backlash in it that it is just aweful. It is so bad, I wonder if DRO would help it. But the Z axis is square to the bed and that is important.

But the reference I made about the diamentions for the mounts on the CNCFusion kit are like for the Z axis mount, also the extention mount on the right side of the mill table. Anything else, well I am going to call CNC Fusion to see if I can get the other stuff from them. This should help reduce cost. If anyone has the kit already for a X2 machine, your measurements would be greatly appreciated.

Doc
 

DANNYBOY

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
17
dont forget the $32 pendant
this thing works well and if you break it who cares it wasnt $300 lol
steve
http://www.ebay.com/itm/251170158689?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2648

Don't want to hijack OakRidgeGuy's thread, but I don't know how to move this quote to another thread.

Jumps4 I'd like a little info on this pendant, how much trouble was it to set up I run mach 3 on my cnc plasma table and that would be right handy Thanks and sorry for intruding.

dannyboy
 

7HC

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
640
Don't want to hijack OakRidgeGuy's thread, but I don't know how to move this quote to another thread.

Jumps4 I'd like a little info on this pendant, how much trouble was it to set up I run mach 3 on my cnc plasma table and that would be right handy Thanks and sorry for intruding.

dannyboy

Don't worry about it, nobody really owns a thread. :))

That pendant is designed specifically to work with Mach3, you just plug it into a USB port. I not sure if it's automatically recognized or you have to select it but it would soon be clear.

Enlarge the pic and look at the lables on the membrane keypad and all should become clear as to it's function, and it beats walking around holding a full size keyboard. ;)


M
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
I am going to go ahead and order some more tools, I have to get some parts made. While I wait for the opportunity to raise the extra money to improve the machine.
 

Hawkeye

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
1,886
Yeah, OakRidgeGuy. This thread is nasty good timing. I'm learning a lot in a short time.

I picked up a 17" monitor today - a refurbished Samsung. I figured I'd keep costs down where it doesn't matter as much.

I'm converting an X2 mill. The motor package was the best deal, from what little I know about CNC so far. I got the four-axis package because it was the cheapest way to go if I add any kind of fourth.
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
Don't want to hijack OakRidgeGuy's thread, but I don't know how to move this quote to another thread.

Jumps4 I'd like a little info on this pendant, how much trouble was it to set up I run mach 3 on my cnc plasma table and that would be right handy Thanks and sorry for intruding.

dannyboy
it came with nothing but broken english translation. i e-mailed them and they sent me the manual written by the same translator. but i plugged it in and it just worked. all you have to do is go into the key setup part of mach setup and push each button to set it once. in the directions it says type in "insert".... that translates to push the insert button on your keyboard. once you set it up it just works from then on. its great
steve
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
The pendant is something that I am going to need as well, I have been looking at several different ones. Steve, have you had the opportunity to look at other ones in comparison to the one that you have now?

Doc
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
Steve,

Your right, as I am playing with the eMachineShop program, I am beginning to believe it is very easy to draw up a part on it. I think with some practice, a person can indeed master it rather quickly. I am liking it already.. thank you for that!

Doc

PS: What I wonder is, can you draw a 9 degree Secent Ogive or Tangent Ogive line on it?
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
doc
i have been looking at pendants for years but i just could not see the money they wanted. this one does everything i need to do for far less. i added a magnet to the back and it hangs right on the side of my mill head. to machine something fast i just use it to set feed rate and go i dont even go over to the pc.
i'm not going to look this up to figure out what you asked me
"PS: What I wonder is, can you draw a 9 degree Secent Ogive or Tangent Ogive line on it? "
it does a lot i dont understand or need. try the help on the website and search for your topic it is pretty good
also see this it looks pretty easy to draw what your asking

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=Tangent+Ogive+line+&FORM=HDRSC2
ok i looked them up they dont look hard to draw
steve

th.jpg th2.jpg
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
if in emachineshop you try to export your dxf and the export button is not available. save your file then reopen it. then you can export with no problem. it does that some times and maybe the version i just got fixed that.
you can also open a few emachineshop programs at the same time and cut and paste between them, thats handy to grab predrawn items, scale mirror rotate and insert them into your new drawings.
steve
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
Steve,

I will have to remember that, but more than likely, you will have to remind me later!

Here is the first work up I tried.. didn't take a few minutes once I started to get a understanding as to which plane my mind needs to be in when starting a drawing.

SANY0415.jpg

That is one of the many parts that I will actually be making.

SANY0415.jpg
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
looks good your picking it up fast.
steve
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
yeah,

but now I have to learn how to do arcs and remove material for different designs from this point.
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
just draw the arc then go to the tool bar and adjust it to your needs then rotate or mirror and place it after it is done.
steve
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
I looked at the tutorial for this, but it is not sinking it.. haha! I will have it..
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
I missed that post where you found the ogive. I will need to do that to get my chucking reamers made in the future.. they have to be a specific curve. 9 degree or 7 degree, depending on whether it is a secant or tangent ogive.
 

DMS

Active User
Registered
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,567
This was a bit back in the thread, but hey, I am catching up.

Regarding pendants, you don't really need one, you can use the keyboard to jog (arrow keys, page up/down). If you want a cheap pendant, LinuxCNC (and I believe Mach) can use inexpensive USB game pads as pendants. I have not set one up yet, so I don't know the level of difficulty, but it's something to keep in mind.

DMS
 

7HC

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
640
This was a bit back in the thread, but hey, I am catching up.

Regarding pendants, you don't really need one, you can use the keyboard to jog (arrow keys, page up/down). If you want a cheap pendant, LinuxCNC (and I believe Mach) can use inexpensive USB game pads as pendants. I have not set one up yet, so I don't know the level of difficulty, but it's something to keep in mind.

DMS
You can, but a pendant is a little more ergonomic than a keyboard. You can use game pads and similar items as well, but the $32 pendant Jumps showed is specifically designed for Mach3 (no boards or add ons are needed), and it has more functions available than a game pad and they're all labeled.

There are more expensive ones available (just check eBay) and they appear to be of significantly higher quality construction and IMO are more appealing to the eye; but for $32 the one discussed is a great value and it appears to do the job.

Pendant.jpg



M

Pendant.jpg
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
can you draw up a sketch with dimensions so i can try what you are wanting to get?
i'm not sure if i can do it either but i'll try
steve
 

jumps4

Global Moderator
H-M Platinum Supporter ($50)
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,236
is this what you are trying to draw?
steve

DSCF0530.JPG
 

OakRidgeGuy

Active User
Registered
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
486
Steve,

Actually, in the first photo that I posted. Look at the bottom right of the post, I want to draw an arc from about .05 from the front and up arcing to the back about .010 below the tansverse hole. And then removing that material down to .110. and then repeat the same thing on the other side. This would leave an arc with a angled brace going through the arc.. have I made myself clear enough?


Doc
 
[5] [7]
Top