i need a project

bosephus

Registered
Registered
winter is here and with it short days and long nights . i would like to find a project to do to fill my time .
i do believe i would like to build a steam engine , but i have zero experience with steam and limited tooling so i think its better to rely on you fellows who might have a wee bit better input then my meager brain is providing .

here are my requirements ... no castings , its simple cash flow does not allow me the joy of buying castings .
and it must be something i can build with my lathe and a small bench top drill press .
and free plans ... that do not violate someones copyright .

there we go .. those are my only requirements pretty simple . throw some ideas at me lets see what sticks .

i have been looking at the john-tom site and a few others .... but the inability to open pdf files on my tablet makes it a tad bit difficult to make an informed choice on if i can build it without a mill

My first major project was very similar to this, but in brass.

Try googling "oscillating cylinder steam engine plans"

SteamEngine_001.jpg

my tablet went a bit wonkers and i havent been able to reply till now , but i think i like the oscillating engines , they seem simple enough .

i am going to do a bit web searching and see if i can find a basic plan that is not in pdf format and see what i need for materials and start searching the scrap yard

d

Google gingery publications they printed several books on project stirling cycle engines and some others. You could learn to make your own aluminum castings too without much investment. Fun to read if nothing else.

P.S. I reread your requirements.. The books aren't free but they were pretty cheap last I checked. Otherwise watch tubalcain's videos on oscillating steam engines on youtube. I know some he made castings for but he did one series where he used bar stock. Check him out.

Last edited: