[4]

Index-40 Question

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

Tom Howland

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
31
I'm getting ready to start up my newly acquired well used Index-40. I see that the adjustable plate holding the spindle motor has no hold down bars (2). My question is….should the bars hold the plate rigid or loose for adjustment.

IMG_1689s.jpg IMG_1690s.jpg
 

mhooper

Active User
Registered
Joined
Feb 12, 2011
Messages
53
I'm getting ready to start up my newly acquired well used Index-40. I see that the adjustable plate holding the spindle motor has no hold down bars (2). My question is….should the bars hold the plate rigid or loose for adjustment.
The adjustable plate should be loose. There should be a lever (with a ratchet mechanism) to adjust belt tension.

mhooper
 

Tom Howland

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
31
The belt tensioner is a 3/4" captive screw under the plate out the rear. Thanks.
 

Martin W

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
467
I don't want to hijack the thread , but what size motor does yours have Tom or Dutch?
 

Dutch

Active User
Registered
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
42
Mine had a 1/4 hp motor and gave yeoman service for 30 yrs.
 

Martin W

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
467
Thanks
Mine has a 1/4hp . Wanting to change it and was thinking 1 horsepower
Cheers
Martin
 

Flyrod

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
137
on this same subject, my 40 has come with...wait for it...a 5HP motor!

why anyone put that on i don't know - the motor is half the size of the mill

question: will i hurt anything using such an over-sized motor?

if so, i am sure it will go quickly on ebay...what would folks use instead (needs to be single phase...220 is fine)

thanks
 

LarryTheKing

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
17
on this same subject, my 40 has come with...wait for it...a 5HP motor!

why anyone put that on i don't know - the motor is half the size of the mill

question: will i hurt anything using such an over-sized motor?

if so, i am sure it will go quickly on ebay...what would folks use instead (needs to be single phase...220 is fine)

thanks
Holy cow 5hp?! Most I've ever seen on even a larger turret mill is 3hp (and those were Chinese horses)

Smaller tapers such as B&S 9 and R8 really can't deliver that much power anyhow.
For reference, early Series 1 Bridgeport mills shipped with a 1hp or sometimes even 1/2hp motor

On my model 39 (which is the 99% the same as a 40) I have a single phase 3/4hp motor and it's done just fine.

I say put that 5hp beast up on ebay and use the money to get a nice 3/4 or 1hp single phase motor
Even better would be a three phase motor and a vfd (for variable speed)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Guv

Flyrod

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Dec 14, 2016
Messages
137
Is the vfd advantage that you never have to change the belt to achieve different speeds?

So you would leave the belt pulley setup on the highest speed and then control downward with the vfd?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
 

LarryTheKing

Newbie
Registered
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Messages
17
Is the vfd advantage that you never have to change the belt to achieve different speeds?

So you would leave the belt pulley setup on the highest speed and then control downward with the vfd?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
A VFD will provide "infinitely variable" speed control, however running the motor at very low speeds can be detrimental to it unless it was designed as an inverter duty motor.
Most motors are cooled by an internal fan mounted on their shaft, and running the motor at slower than designed speeds means this fan spins slower than normal - which can lead to over heating.

You will likely still need to swap belts even with the VFD, just not as frequently.
For example using the highest pulley on your model 40, you may be able to reasonably adjust between 1000 to 3000 rpm with the VFD.
Lower speeds would require a belt change.

On my Logan lathe, I'll run the VFD between 20hz and 75hz, and being able to adjust the speed while its running has been great for achieving a nice surface finish.
I also think that 3 phase motors in general produce a more consistent surface finish than single phase motors.
 
[5] [7]
Top