Information On G0728/9

Rick H

Registered
Registered
Hi All: I am in Springfield, MO on a three week work assignment. While I was here I wanted to stop in at the Grizzly Store and look at the smaller Grizzly milling machines that I want to use for home hobby projects. Let me say that I have little experience working with milling machines but I think I can have fun with one and perhaps accomplish making some useful projects.

I went into the Grizzly store today to look at the mill that I was most interested in, the G0759. Unfortunately, they did not have one in the store and per the salesman I spoke with they don't expect any until September or October....Rats! While I was looking at a G0704, which is the G0759 less the DRO, I spied a G0728 which is a benchtop style knee mill. I walked over to it and gave it the once over and I can say I really liked this machine. The mechanical controls felt very nice compared to some other machines. Another customer told me the reason they felt smoother was due to the fact the ways are given more attention when the machine was put together. True it is about $1,000.00 more than the G0759 and it doesn't have a DRO, but it seemed like a well made machine.

So here is my question to the group: does anyone here own or use a G0728/9 Grizzly mill and if so do you like it? Also, how does one tram the mill in the "Y" axis? It looks like it's pretty straightforward to tram the "X" axis, but I couldn't figure out the "Y".

Thanks for any help and information.....

Rick H.

OK, I guess I can assume by 30 views and no replies that no one owns or may have used a Grizzly G0728/9 mill on this forum. Be that the case, has anyone heard anything good or bad about this mill? How about adjusting the Y-axis tram?

Thanks in advance.....Rick