Internal threading away from the chuck

Armourer

Registered
Registered
Hey all, I have a project I am doing were I need to internal thread into a blind hole. I was thinking about trying to thread it away from the chuck, but my chuck is threaded on and I am worried about it spinning off. Is this a bad idea to try and do? Anyone have any other way of threading it? Thanks all for your help!

I did that on my 10 x 22 lathe and it has a threaded chuck, BUT it also has locking clips that prevent the chuck from unthreading. I got away with it but I only took light cuts. One time the chuck did try to come off but thankfully the locks stopped it. I would not try it unless your lathe has some kind of chuck locking device.

I'm relatively new to this stuff and others with more experience will likely chime in with a solution for you.

Here is what I do when possible:
  1. Machine the bore just a bit deeper than it needs to be - .125" to .250" - This dimension depends on the size of your project.
  2. Cut a relief channel about .125" wide and just a bit deeper than the major diameter of the thread. It should be located at a depth that allows the length of thread that you desire.
  3. Machine your thread as normal. The relief channel gives you a 'safe zone' in which to stop the travel of the carriage without crashing the tool into the bottom of the bore.
Here is a cutaway view of a sample part:

Cutting Internal Threads.PNG

I've done it already on a Le Blonde lathe. I wasn't taking heavy cuts....I think the important thing is to take light cuts and see if anything changes. When you go slow and take deep cuts, that's when it wants to un-thread.

Here is what I do when possible:
  1. Machine the bore just a bit deeper than it needs to be - .125" to .250" - This dimension depends on the size of your project.